DR. PIERRETTE HERZBERGER-FOFANA

DIEGRÜNEN/EFA | MEP
Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

About Me .

From 2005 to 2019, I was a city councillor in Erlangen and a lecturer at the university and high school teacher at Ohm-Gymnasium. In May 2019, I was elected as a Member of the European Parliament, where I am, among other things, the first deputy chairman of the Committee on Development.

In Erlangen, my involvement focused particularly on the areas of intercultural dialogue/integration, education and youth, women and senior citizens*. In Erlangen I am co-founder of the "International Weeks against Racism" and initiator of "School without Racism" of the Ohm-Gymnasium. In 2015 I founded the "Black History Weeks", an annual series of events on the history and significance of the African Diaspora in Germany and beyond.

The "Black History Weeks" tie in with the United Nations' international UN Decade for People of African Origin 2015-2024, whose motto is "Recognition, Justice and Development". For millions of people are still victims of racism and discrimination "Racial Profiling" (arbitrary face control), xenophobia and related intolerance in the world.

I am the first African woman to be elected to a city council in Germany. I am also a founding member and ex-chairwoman of FORWARD-Germany e. V., an association that campaigns for the abolition of female genital mutilation, a member of the "Helene Weber Network" and the "Association of Mandate Holders* of African Descent". I am committed to the empowerment of girls and women with a special focus on migrant women, as well as against violence against women, discrimination and racism.

In 2003 I received the "Grand Prize of the President of Senegal for Research and Science" in Dakar (Senegal). In 2009, I was also awarded the "Helene Weber Prize" for my commitment as a local politician by the then Federal Minister for Family Affairs, currently EU President, Dr. Ursula von der Leyen.

My career .

Academic career

  • Studies Romance Languages-Germanic Studies-Sociology
  • Doctor of Philosophy of the Friedrich-Alexander-University of Erlangen Dissertation "L'image de la femme dans la littérature francophone d'Afrique subsaharienne
  • State Examination Scientific examination for the teaching profession of Romance and German Studies at the University of Trier
  • Maîtrise en Sociologie allemande Paris-Sorbonne Facharbeit Deutsch als Fremdsprache für Kinder ausländischer Arbeitnehmer*innen in Deutschland
  • Magister Artium M.A.(Romance-Germanic Studies) University of Trier Master's thesis "Le rôle de la langue française par rapport aux langues nationales au Sénégal"Magister Artium M.A. (M.A. and 1st State Examination in Romance and German Studies University of Trier) and Paris-Sorbonne (Maîtrise. Sociologie allemande)
     
     

Professional career

  • High school teacher in Erlangen for French (ret.)
  • Assistant lecturer at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Bayreuth, FH-Nuremberg and FH Munich
  • Research assistant at the University of Trier, Erlangen-Nuremberg for Romance languages and literature
  • Lecturer at the Language Centre of the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen
  • Lecturer for French at the Euro-Sprachschule Trier

DR. PIERRETTE HERZBERGER-FOFANA

DIEGRÜNEN/EFA | EU-Abgeordnete
Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

Über Mich .

Von 2005 bis 2019 war ich in Erlangen Stadträtin und Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität und Gymnasiallehrerin am Ohm-Gymnasium. Im Mai 2019 wurde ich als Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments gewählt und bin dort u. a. erste stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Entwicklungsausschusses.

In Erlangen fokussierte sich mein Engagement besonders auf die Bereiche interkultureller Dialog/Integration, Bildung und Jugendlichen, Frauen sowie Senioren*innen. Ich bin in Erlangen Mitbegründerin der „Internationalen Wochen gegen Rassismus“ und Initiatorin von „Schule ohne Rassismus“ des Ohm-Gymnasiums. 2015 rief ich die „Black History Weeks“ ins Leben, eine jährliche Veranstaltungsreihe zur Geschichte und Bedeutung der afrikanischen Diaspora in Deutschland und darüber hinaus.

Die „Black History Weeks“ knüpfen an die internationale UN-Dekade für Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft 2015-2024 der Vereinten Nationen an, deren Motto lautet: „Anerkennung, Gerechtigkeit und Entwicklung“. Denn Millionen von Menschen sind immer noch Opfer von Rassismus und Diskriminierung „Racial Profiling“ (willkürliche Gesichtskontrolle), Fremdenfeindlichkeit und zusammenhängender Intoleranz in der Welt.

Ich bin die erste Afrikanerin, die in Deutschland in einen Stadtrat gewählt wurde. Außerdem bin ich u. a. Gründungsmitglied und Ex-Vorsitzende von FORWARD-Germany e. V., einem Verein, der sich für die Abschaffung der Genitalverstümmelung an Frauen und Mädchen einsetzt, Mitglied des „Helene Weber Netzwerks“ und der „Vereinigung der Mandatsträger*innen Afrikanischer Abstammung“. Ich engagiere mich für das Empowerment von Mädchen und Frauen mit einem besonderen Augenmerk für Migrant*innen, sowie gegen Gewalt an Frauen, Diskriminierung und Rassismus.

2003 erhielt ich in Dakar (Senegal) den „Großen Preis des Staatspräsidenten Senegals für Forschung und Wissenschaft“. 2009 wurde ich zudem für mein Engagement als Kommunalpolitikerin von der damaligen Bundesfamilienministerin, z. Z. EU-Präsidentin, Dr. Ursula von der Leyen mit dem „Helene Weber Preis“ ausgezeichnet.

Mein Werdegang .

Akademische Laufbahn

  • Studium Romanistik-Germanistik-Soziologie
  • Doktor der Philosophie der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen Dissertation „L’image de la femme dans la littérature francophone d’Afrique subsaharienne“
  • Staatsexamen Wissenschaftliche Prüfung für das Lehramt Romanistik und Germanistik Universität Trier
  • Maîtrise en Sociologie allemande Paris-Sorbonne Facharbeit Deutsch als Fremdsprache für Kinder ausländischer Arbeitnehmer*innen in Deutschland
  • Magister Artium M.A.(Romanistik-Germanistik) Universität Trier Magisterarbeit «Le rôle de la langue française par rapport aux langues nationales au Sénégal»Magister Artium M.A. (M.A. und 1. Staatsexamen Romanistik und Germanistik Universität Trier) und Paris-Sorbonne (Maîtrise. Sociologie allemande)
     
     

Berufliche Laufbahn

  • Gymnasiallehrerin in Erlangen für Französisch a.D.
  • Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Bayreuth, FH-Nürnberg und FH München
  • Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Universität Trier, Erlangen-Nürnberg für Romanische Sprachen und Literatur
  • Lektorin am Sprachenzentrum der Friedrich–Alexander Universität Erlangen
  • Dozentin für Französisch an der Euro-Sprachschule Trier