Topic: Women's rights

Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

"Women's rights is not only an abstraction, a cause; it is also a personal affair. It is not only about us; it is also about me and you."
Toni Morrison

Whether it is the global gender pay gap or the setbacks in the area of women's rights, whether it is women's rights to sexual and reproductive health, whether it is the relatively low participation of women in important decision-making processes of various kinds or the phenomenon of violence against women: We are still far from the end of a struggle for equal coexistence between all genders.

As a substitute member of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM), my fellow campaigners and I work to promote and demand policy instruments and attitudes that seek to establish equality on many levels. My focus is on violence against women, women in leadership, female genital mutilation, senior women, migrant women and black women (in the diaspora).

Due to my decades of involvement in this area, I was chosen by my party, The Greens/EFA, to act as rapporteur on Female Genital Mutilation (FGM). On 12 February 2020, the resolution on combating FGM was adopted by a large majority. Many past and planned events are underway to discuss how we can achieve the goal of eradicating FGM by 2030, in line with the Inter African Committee (IAC/CI-AF) Action Plan.

Another main focus of my work is in the field of intersectional feminism, where intersectionality means the intersection of different forms of discrimination. I see myself repeatedly called upon to strengthen the voices of minorities and to show that feminist contexts also need to be examined in terms of the concept of white privilege. Also in the FEMM committee and the current formation of an internal council on gender equality, I affirm the need to "empower" Black women, migrant women, but also senior women, in order to decisively counteract multiple discrimination.

I work not least for the goal that women of different origins and ages take the plunge into politics, because diversity remains an empty word as long as not all visible minorities are represented in political bodies.

Facebook

Instagram

News
Women's Rights

Voices of Black European Women

On 27.05.2021, our online event "Voices of Black European Women - Making Diverse Experiences, Life Realities and Narratives Visible" took place. With the exchange of experts, we wanted to share the experiences of different women.

Read more "
Women's Rights

Women in Europe: More than half the power!

In the webinar we discuss with representatives from politics and civil society about challenges and difficulties on the way to politics for women. We still have a long and rocky road ahead of us to achieve our goals for all women and diversity and equality in Europe.

Read more "

Thema: Frauenrechte

Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

“Women’s rights is not only an abstraction, a cause; it is also a personal affair. It is not only about us; it is also about me and you.“
Toni Morrison

Sei es das weltweit zu verzeichnende geschlechtsspezifische Lohngefälle oder Rückschläge im Bereich der Frauenrechte eingenommen der Rechte der Frau auf sexuelle und reproduktive Gesundheit, sei es eine verhältnismäßig geringe Beteiligung von Frauen an wichtigen Entscheidungsprozessen unterschiedlicher Art oder das Phänomen Gewalt gegen Frauen: Wir sind noch lange nicht am Ende eines Kampfes für ein gleichberechtigtes Miteinander aller Geschlechter.

Als stellvertretendes Mitglied im Ausschuss für die Rechte der Frauen und die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter (FEMM) arbeiten meine Mitstreiter*innen und ich daran, politische Instrumente und Haltungen  zu fördern und und zu fordern, die Gleichberechtigung auf vielen Ebenen herzustellen versuchen. Meine Schwerpunkte dabei sind die Themen Gewalt an Frauen, Frauen in Führungspositionen, Beschneidung an Frauen und Mädchen, Seniorinnen, Migrantinnen und Schwarze Frauen (in der Diaspora).

Aufgrund meines jahrzehntelangen Engagements in diesem Bereich, wurde ich von meiner Partei Die Grünen/EFA gewählt, als Berichterstatterin über die Beschneidung an Frauen und Mädchen (Female Genitale Mutilation/FGM) zu fungieren. Am 12. Februar 2020 wurde die Resolution zur Bekämpfung der FGM mit großer Mehrheit verabschiedet. Im Rahmen vieler vergangener und geplanter Veranstaltungen wird derzeit erörtert, wie wir, gemäß des Aktionsplans des Inter African Committee (IAC/CI-AF), das Ziel der Ausrottung der FGM bis 2030 erreichen können.

Ein weiteres Hauptaugenmerk meiner Arbeit liegt im Bereich des Intersektionellen Feminismus, wobei Intersektionalität die Überschneidung verschiedener Formen von Diskriminierung meint. Ich sehe mich immer wieder dazu aufgerufen, die Stimmen von Minderheiten zu stärken und zu zeigen, dass auch feministische Kontexte auf den Begriff der White Privilege hin überprüft werden müssen. Auch im Ausschuss FEMM und der derzeitigen Formation eines internen Rates zur Gleichstellung der Geschlechter bekräftige ich die Notwendigkeit, Schwarze Frauen, Migrantinnen, aber auch Seniorinnen zu „empowern“, um Mehrfachdiskriminierungen entschieden entgegenzuwirken.

Ich arbeite nicht zuletzt für das Ziel, dass Frauen verschiedener Herkunft und unterschiedlichen  Alters den Sprung in die Politik wagen, denn Vielfalt bleibt ein leeres Wort, solange nicht alle sichtbaren Minderheiten in den politischen Gremien vertreten sind.

News