Subject: EU-Africa

Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

EU-Africa

"This world belongs to all of us equally, and we are all its co-heirs, even if we do not live in it in the same way - hence precisely the real diversity of cultures and ways of life."
Achille Mbembe

Europe would not be the Europe of today without Africa, and Africa would not be the Africa of today without Europe. The two continents constitute themselves not least through their respective interlockings, whereby the gain of one is always the price of the other and vice versa.

In the Development Committee (DEVE), I have the opportunity to help shape European development policy in the interests of my constituents and the diverse voices of civil society.

As Vice-Chair of DEVE, I work with other MEPs to implement the development goals of the 2030 Agenda. I am particularly concerned about food security, the rights of women and girls and sexual minorities, and the renewal and decolonisation of EU-Africa relations.

The new EU-Africa Strategy, published by the European Commission at the beginning of 2020, is a frequent topic in my daily parliamentary life, not least because of my role as shadow rapporteur on the EU-Africa Strategy report. In my work on this issue, I am convinced that a respectful and deeper dialogue between African and European actors can create a new, more useful quality of partnership.

As a substitute member of the delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly, I am also an observer of the post-Cotonou negotiations and thus of Europe's ability to act in terms of development policy. The Post-Cotonou Agreement governs trade relations and political cooperation between the African, Caribbean and Pacific states and the European Union.

Facebook

Instagram

News

EU-Africa

Thema: EU-Afrika

Dr. Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana

EU-Afrika

„Diese Welt gehört uns allen gleichermaßen, und wir alle sind ihre Miterben, auch wenn wir nicht in derselben Weise darin leben – daher ja gerade die reale Vielfalt der Kulturen und Lebensweisen“.
Achille Mbembe

Europa wäre nicht das derzeitige Europa ohne Afrika und Afrika wäre nicht das derzeitige Afrika ohne Europa. Die beiden Kontinente konstituieren sich nicht zuletzt durch ihre jeweiligen Verzahnungen, wobei der Gewinn der einen immer auch der Preis der anderen ist und umgekehrt.

Im Entwicklungsausschuss (DEVE) habe ich die Möglichkeit, die europäische Entwicklungspolitik im Sinne meiner Wähler*innen und den vielfältigen Stimmen der Zivilgesellschaft mitzugestalten.

Als stellvertretende Vorsitzende von DEVE setze ich mich mit anderen Abgeordneten für die Umsetzung der Entwicklungsziele der Agenda 2030 ein. Besonders liegen mir die Themen der Ernährungssicherheit, die Rechte von Frauen und Mädchen sowie sexueller Minderheiten und die Erneuerung und Dekolonisierung der EU-Afrika-Beziehungen am Herzen.

Die neue EU-Afrika-Strategie, die die Europäische Kommission Anfang 2020 veröffentlicht hat, beschäftigt mich häufig in meinem parlamentarischen Alltag, nicht zuletzt aufgrund meiner Funktion als Schattenberichterstatterin zum Bericht zur EU-Afrika Strategie. In meiner diesbezüglichen Arbeit folge ich meiner Überzeugung, dass ein respektvoller und vertiefter Dialog zwischen afrikanischen und europäischen Akteur*innen eine auf neue, brauchbarere Qualität der Partnerschaft erzeugen kann.

Als stellvertretendes Mitglied der Delegation in der Paritätischen Parlamentarischen Versammlung AKP-EU bin ich zudem Beobachterin der Post-Cotonou-Verhandlungen und damit der entwicklungspolitischen Handlungsfähigkeit Europas. Das Post-Cotonou-Abkommen regelt die Handelsbeziehungen und die politischen Kooperationen zwischen den Staaten Afrikas, der Karibik, des Pazifikraums und der Europäischen Union.

News

EU-Afrika